Day 8: Zanesville to Dayton, OH

An awesomely productive day — hence, posting this in the morning rather than last night.  I was literally falling asleep at the keyboard as I was uploading the Flickr stuff.  Feeling rejuvenated now.  Looks like it’ll be another sunny day.  Yesterday, was kinda grey and disappointing in the morning.   Finally gave way to sunny skies but no fluffy awesome clouds like the last few days. Those clouds make even the most hideous plastic sign look dynamite.

In doggie news, no mishaps or new additions.  They got loads of exercise yesterday so I’m hoping to get by with a minimum today so I can polish off Ohio.  In addition to the grassy fields, I found (or should I say Nik identified) a river on the way to Orient.  We spent a good chunk of time at the Big Darby Creek.  Since I’m such a tightwad with the A/C, the kids really enjoyed swimming.  Well, in reality, it’s not about the swimming.  For Nik, it’s about the toy, of course.  For Fix & Grem, it’s all about the stuff I throw out there for them to eat.  Anything that’ll float will work.  I ran out of Goldfish so I’ve been getting by with Iams.  Not our usual brand, nose in the air, but what was donated to us by the Dog Warden back in Delphos for bringing in the Dalmatian.  When I wasn’t looking, he snuck in about four bags of this stuff and a giant box of biscuits.

blog6

blog5

Nik has been swallowing WAY too much water since he pops at his ball or toy in the water about twenty times before actually gripping it in his mouth.  Each pop, he swallows about a half cup of water.  He then pees later for about five minutes.  So I’ve devised a custom cover (an old sock) which helps him to pick it up on the very first try.

blog7

Grip does not go swimming unless it’s super hot and the water is calm and shallow and the floaty treats are amazing.  She got caught in a tiny current a couple years ago and that was that for her.  So she stays on shore while the other ones are out there.  She’ll wade in up to her tippy toes to get the easy-to-reach treats.  She mostly finds bits of whatnot on land to sniff, munch or pee on and is happy with that.

blog9

This would’ve been a great shot if I had remembered to use the “Action” setting.  Sorry D90 – not your fault.  This was Grippie jumping up to give me a kiss.  A big nose schmear on the lens ended our photo session for the day.

blog8

On with the roadside stuff.    Leaving Zanesville in the morning, I saw this crane.  No workers were around.  Sure didn’t look very safe to me.

blog1

These guys were at Dusty’s Salvage & Supply in New Lexington.  The guy sitting on the sign went up and down on this mini oil rig, driller, whatever you call them.  Super cute.

blog2

Who knew they had moonshiners in central Ohio?  Papa Tom’s Pizza & Subs is in New Straitsville:

blog3

Love the birds’ creative use of this plastic sign in Grove City.

blog4

A nice mid-century structure at the Town House Motor Lodge in Springfield:

blog10

I don’t know which makes me sadder:  the horrid adaptation of this sign or the condition of this former Howard Johnson’s restaurant.  Also in Springfield:

blog11

Actually, this hurts even worse.  What the hell happened!  This Springfield sign for Reco Sporting Goods had a nice hunter guy with a pipe standing on some logs. Looks like it fell off its hinge.  Not sure if this is the end of this sign or if they will repair it.  Here’s a link to what the sign used to look like (warning: crappy photo that I shot many years ago):
http://www.roadsidenut.com/reco403.jpg

blog12

Two keys are better than one.  I assume the top sign came first — glad they kept it.  Springfield.

blog13

Maybe they’re restoring this old Phillips 66 in Springfield — or maybe that was the plan.  Or maybe they just like the skeleton look.  Or maybe the canopy became a safety hazard?  Here’s another crummy photo taken in 2003 to show you what it looked like then:
http://www.roadsidenut.com/springgas403.jpg

blog14

A nice, or not-so-nice, graphic depiction of a coney dog.  Being a vegetarian, I can’t be the judge.  This at the Dairy Dreem in Dayton.

blog16

I don’t usually shoot Arby’s hat signs since they are still relatively common.  And I’m not even so sure they aren’t still being produced — many of them sure look brand spanking new to me.  This one in Dayton was a stunner and I couldn’t resist it:

blog15

Onward!  Sun’s up.

Day 6 & 7: Columbus, OH mostly

Did you miss me?  Yes, last night I got together with a Flickr pal that I hadn’t met before. So I got a night off from posting to Flickr and here. We had a great time and chatted until after midnight I think. Which means I didn’t get that early night to bed that I thought I would.

The dogs have mostly been getting their exercise in big semi-grassy lots that I find next to hotels and mall type places. I did get them to a great dog park yesterday in Columbus: The Big Walnut Dog Park. There was a lake and everybody went swimming — even Grippie for a few seconds. Separate areas and plenty enough room to run Nik around for awhile. Fencing seemed nice and secure so I felt comfortable having Grem run around. There was a big list of rules at the entrance and it did say no more than two dogs per owner. But everybody clearly saw me with my four and I didn’t get hassled. This place will now be on my permanent list of places to go every time I pass through Columbus.
http://www.bigwalnutdogpark.com/

All else going fine. No stray dogs to rescue, no mishaps with any of mine. Weather mostly sunny & Sparkle running great. I’m pretty much on schedule I think and will hopefully wrap up Ohio on Sunday or more likely Monday. I have tons of bloggy photos and since it’s nearly 1am, let’s get to it.

All of these are from Columbus unless otherwise indicated.  Elsie the Borden’s cow peeks out from this old wall advertising:

blog5

This had to have been a circular Dairy Queen sign originally.  There are some examples at this page at my website:
http://agilitynut.com/eateries/dq.html

Then, somewhere along the line, the rectangular piece was added.  And, then this latest paint job which is pretty bizarre.

blog6

Next door to this sign, is this oddly painted or weathered one.  I much prefer signs to look this way than those brand spanking new looking restorations:

blog7

At the Eastland Mall, was this nice midcentury building.  I’m sure you Columbusian, Columbusites, will enlighten me as to what department store was here originally:

blog4

Today, I came upon a similar building with the same turquoisey glazed brick but with a different style entrance.  This one was on Tremont.  A Macy’s but I don’t know if that’s what was there originally:
blog13

This sign was in the trees in Marysville next to the former Frostop (now Benny’s Pizza).  Can anyone make out the lettering below the coffee cup?

blog1

I believe I’ve seen this giant sign style before.  I’m too needing sleep to check around.  It was a drug store chain I think.

blog2

This plastic sign surprised me because I didn’t know that Super Baker was a chain.  I had been only familiar with this neon sign:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/dania_h/2303882974/
So I assume there were other neon signs like that one around?  It must be the only one left if that’s the case. 

blog3

I have always loved these Coca-Cola and other beverage signs that use these shapes sealed in clear plastic.  Here’s an example:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/roadsidenut/2749853440/
 This one was busted out of its shell so I got to get a better view of them:

blog8

I decided to switch from sweet to salty for today’s snack.  I’d heard good things about the local Conn’s potato chips brand.  I probably should have gotten regular because this salt & vinegar was a killer.  My mouth got blisters I swear!  The dogs weren’t fond of them either but ate ’em anyway. 

blog9

Speaking of sweets, how bout a couple of not quite website-worthy donut signs:

blog10

blog14

More signs!  A sad but still pretty one:

blog12

So many fun things about this one:

blog11

One of the biggest neon arrows that I’ve ever seen:

blog15

What could be a more appropriate use of the classic plastic ball — than as a symbolic meatball!  Certainly, this must have been a later adaptation though, right?

blog16

A beautiful building with painted signs indicating its original use and a classic Mail Pouch ad.  This was in Mount Vernon, OH:

blog19

And I don’t know which of these last two is more terrifying.  This one from Mount Vernon:

blog18

Or this rooftop inflatable at a Wendy’s in Columbus:

blog17

I hope these don’t give you nightmares.  I’m heading to bed now myself.